MEMOIR

May 3, 2010

I was reading a little story about a woman who received news from her minister that her husband had died. Her response was to invite him in and to offer him a cup of tea. The minister was rather surprised by her response and said so. She being a child of the blitz (this is me, I thought) said that her mother told her when something awful happened she must think of what she would be doing if that had not happened and do that. It was a vivid recall of how we as wartime children were raised — to carry on no matter what. I spent part of this weekend going over chapters that dealt with my wartime childhood and where to put them. As so much was brought up at our group at the cancer center I hope I can bring it in thorough the relaxation, meditation,visualization and art therapy group I attended for five years. Then again, sometimes I think that part of my life should be a separate book, maybe a young adult.

Leave a Reply

